Super Eaglesโ€™ First Assistant Coach, Salisu Yusuf, has listed 30 players, including eight home-based professionals, excluding the foreign-based duo of Odion Ighalo and Kelechi Iheanacho, for upcoming international friendlies.

The list, released on Tuesday by the Communications Department of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), however, has as usual team captain Ahmed Musa, as well as forward Moses Simon.

The list was released ahead of the international friendlies against the โ€œAโ€ Men National Teams of Mexico and Ecuador, scheduled for the U.S.

The Super Eagles will clash with CONCACAF powerhouse Mexico at the AT & T Stadium in Dallas, the State of Texas on May 28.

ALSO READ  ASUU Strike: Confusion As Universities Set To Lose Sessions, Admission Seekers Stranded

They will then head to New Jersey to tackle Ecuador at the Red Bull Arena in Harrison on June 2.

Subscribe our newsletter for latest news, service & promo. Let's stay updated!

Yusuf, who is also Head Coach of the CHAN and national under-23 teams, has included home-based goalkeepers Adewale Adeyinka and Ojo Olorunleke who are to support the returning Maduka Okoye.

He also called up defender Ibrahim Buhari, and forwards Victor Mbaoma and Ishaq Rafiu, with the home-based players being two goalkeepers, two defenders, two midfielders and two forwards.

NAN reports that only 25 of the 30 players will make the final list for the tour, which is preparatory for Juneโ€™s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying matches.

ALSO READ  ASUU: FG Announces 23.5% Salary Increment For Lecturers

The qualifiers are against Sierra Leone in Abuja (June 9) and Sรฃo Tomรฉ & Prรญncipe in Marrakech, Morocco (June 13).

Full list of invited players:-

Goalkeepers: Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba International FC).

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England)

Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Isa Ali (Remo Stars); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey)

Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ibrahim Buhari (Plateau United)

ALSO READ  ASUU Strike: FG To Review โ€˜No Work, No Payโ€™ Decision, Sets Up Committee

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England)

Chiamaka Madu (Rivers United); Babatunde Afeez Nosiru (Kwara United); Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey)

Samson Tijani (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria); Alhassan Yusuf (Royal Antwerp FC, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, The Netherlands); Victor Mbaoma (Enyimba FC); Ishaq Rafiu (Rivers United)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.