12 Plateau Lawmakers refute impeachment claim, Says Nuhu Abok remains Speaker

Plateau Lawmakers numbering 12 have come out to refute claims that due process was followed in the recent impeachment of the embattled speaker, Hon Nuhu Abok, in response to a statement by other Lawmakers loyal to Yakubu Sanda as the New Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly.

Sanda’s group on Thursday said due process was followed in the impeachment of the embattled Speaker, Ayuba Abok at a press conference in Jos addressed by the lawmaker representing Mikang State Constituency, Daniel Naalong.

However in a quick response the group loyal to Hon. Nuhu Abok made up of 12 lawmakers out of the 24members in the house has issued a statement today, Friday 12th November, 2021, stating that the Constitution – Section 92(2c) (c) if he is removed from office by a resolution of House of Assembly by the votes of not less than two-thirds majority of the members of the House

The statement laid further emphasis that “Votes of not less than two-third majority. Resolution for removal of presiding officers in Plateau State House of Assembly shall be by sixteen Honourable Members during plenary.

Standing Orders of Plateau House of Assembly, 2021- Order 7 Rule 14 (biii) – Where the resolution of the House is that the allegation be investigated, an ad-hoc Committee comprising Members of all the political parties represented in the House shall be constituted to investigate the allegation.

7 Rule 14 (biv) – The Committee so constituted, shall request the holder of the office under investigation to respond in writing and such response shall form part of the Report of the Committee.


1. Videos
2. Standing orders, 2021
3. CFRN, 1999 As altered
4. Fund Management Law
5. Relevant Votes and proceedings
6. Minutes of Funds Management Committee meeting
7. Hansard

Also Read :   7th Plateau Man of the Year Awards Call for Nomination

The group of Lawmakers “said “We the undersigned wonder why Hon. Naanlong Daniel Gapyil struggles to explain due process for removal of presiding officers in State Houses of Assembly as enshrined in Section 92(2c) of the 1999 CFRN as altered. We want the general public to be aware that Hon. Naanlong Daniel Gapyil was privileged to undergo a series of intensive Legislative training on House Rules and procedures of Legislative Business who was the custodian of House Rules and Business because of his Former position as Rules, Business, Inter-Governmental and Inter-Parliamentary Committee.”

“Beloved Press Team and public, from this attached video, you can conduct simple investigation on the number of people that conducted the purported and botched impeachment of Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba on 28th October, 2021. This evidence-based video is enough to clarify the issue of numbers and procedures for removal of presiding officers. We still condemn this coup on the Plateau and Bad Legislative practice.”

“It could be recalled that Hon. Naanlong Daniel Gapyil moved a motion of vote of confidence on Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba in December, 2019 and July, 2021. We deemed it fit to let the general public know that if there were dictatorial tendencies, gross incompetence, financial mismanagement and other false allegations as raised by Mr. Naanlong Gapyil then he wouldn’t have moved these votes of confidence. We wish to also inform the public that it was Hon. Naanlong Gapyil that moved a motion for the House to go for one month recess from August to September, 2021 after passing a vote of confidence on Mr. Speaker in the plenary before the recess.”

Also Read :   Millions lost as fire guts Nyanya market in Abuja (photos/video)

“Let’s put the record straight that Plateau State House of Assembly Fund Management Law provided that the fund Management Committee sits quarterly, we still wonder why Hon. Naanlong and cohorts have not raised allegations on financial misappropriation for the past quarters that the Committee has met. We want to add that the Committee held it last meeting in August, 2021 and Hon. Naanlong Daniel Gapyil was in attendance as Member of the Committee. Note: The Fund Management Committee replaced the Finance and General Purpose Committee (F&GPC)”

We shall hold Hon. Naanlong Gapyil responsible to explain the issue of fake mace in PLHA in connection to their failed impeachment that took place 0600hrs on 28th October, 2021 with a borrowed mace from LGA. We are determined to protect PLHA.

We want to give the general public notice that there is a calculated attempt to vandalize PLHA by some paid hoodlums with the intention to use it as an excuse to provide another venue for plenary that cannot be accessibly by twelve of us. The illegal Speaker under the influence of Government has insisted to hold plenary today Thursday 12th November, 2021. We shall soon draw the attention of Federal Ministry of Finance and World Bank to know that due process is not being followed in the 2022 Plateau State Government Budget.

We want to appreciate the Leaders of democracy in Nigeria for condemning in totality the intended rape of democracy in Plateau State House of Assembly. We say kudos to Distinguished Senator Ahmed Lawal (Senate President), Distinguished Senator Bukola Saraki, Distinguished Senator Jonah David Jang, Distinguished Senator I. D. Gyang, Distinguished Senator Gabriel Suswan, Representative Beni Lar and Representative Musa Bagos. Bravo to Conference of Speakers of State Legislators, Lagos State House of Assembly, PIDAN, YIAGA Africa, Civil Society Organizations (CSOs), Religious Leaders, Traditional Leaders and Members of the public. Your labour to protect democracy will never go in vain.

Also Read :   UNIJOS Governing Council Appoints New Vice Chancellor

The Lawmakers said “We still recognize Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba as our committed and dedicated Speaker. We appeal to the Inspector General of Police and Commissioner of Police, Plateau State Command to restore Security Aide to Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba. We still appeal to AIG in charge of Zone 4 to unseal the House to enable us continue our Legislative Business under the leadership of Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba.”

Thank you and God bless us all.

1. Rt. Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba (APC) – Speaker – Jos East
2. Hon. Peter Ibrahim Gyendeng (PDP) – Minority Leader – Barkin Ladi
3. Hon. Philip Peter Dasun (APC) – Deputy Majority Leader – Pankshin North
4. Hon. Sohchang Zingtim (PDP) – Minority Whip – Langtang South
5. Hon. (Mrs.) Esther Simi Dusu (PDP) – Jos North West
6. Hon. (Dr.) Bala Ndat Fwangje (PDP) – Mangu South
7. Hon. Musa Agah Avia (PDP) – Rukuba Irigwe
8. Hon. (Barr) Henry Longs (APC) – Pankshin South
9. Hon. Fom D. Gwottson (PDP) – Jos South
10. Hon. Timothy Dantong (PDP) – Riyom
11. Hon. Pirfa Jingfa Tyem (PDP) – Langtang North – North
12. Daniel, Nanbol Listick (PDP) – Langtang North – Central


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.